Do You Love Me Poem Series

I will post a series of poems this weekend in honor of Father’s Day.


I wrote the Do You Love Me? poems as letters between a daughter and her father and a son and his father. In 2009, I attended and helped host a Father-Daughter Banquet with my father and sister. That banquet helped reinforce an idea I already had…that fathers play a crucial role in their children’s lives.

Shortly after that banquet, I felt inspired to write Daddy, Do You Love Me? and Daughter, Do You Love Me? I based both poems on my personal experience as a daughter and thought of the things daughters need and want from their fathers and vice versa.

After my father read the poems, he asked if I could write some from a father and son’s perspective for the upcoming Father-Son Army Day (the male equivalent of the banquet). Unlike the first time, I didn’t have any personal experiences to draw from so I was not able to write the poems until after the Father-Son Army Day. Both the Army Day and the book of Proverbs helped me write Do You Love Me, Dad? and Do You Love Me, My Son?

Happy Father’s Day!

Post your thoughts

