Do You Love Me, Dad?

I wrote this poem in 2009 after my dad and brothers attended a Father-Son Army Day.

Do You Love Me, Dad?

Do you love me, Dad?

Then show me the Savior;

I want to have a relationship with my Creator.

 

Do you love me, Dad?

Then teach me to protect;

I want to rescue a damsel in distress.

 

Do you love me, Dad?

Then steer me from temptation;

My future wife deserves pure love and adoration.

 

Do you love me, Dad?

Then, give me wise instruction;

Your wisdom will save me from utter destruction.

 

Do you love me, Dad?

Then be a Godly man;

That way when others fall, I’ll stand.

 

Do you love me, Dad?

Please tell me before it’s too late

If I lack your love I could learn to hate.

La’Tia Coleman

Post your thoughts

